The Film Critic: Opinionated Elitist or Helpful Guide?

Film, plain and simply, is an art form. It deserves to be analysed and critiqued as much as any other medium. This is where the importance of the film critic comes into play. I’ve wanted to pursue a career in film criticism for a while, as I’ve recently tried to develop my abilities to analyse and evaluate every film I see. Film is full of interpretations and meanings that each spectator can take away and contemplate. Film Critics often get a bad reputation as many audiences consider that ‘the critics were wrong’. However, at the end of the day, there’s no ‘wrong’ opinion – because that’s all this is, opinions. While not everyone’s opinions may fall in line with the general consensus of a film (even The Shining (1981) opened to lukewarm reviews), these consensuses act as a guide for general audiences. Whether it’s a film recommended by legendary critics such as Roger Ebert, or more contemporary ones like Mark Kermode, their ‘seal of approval’ is what can cause someone to want to see a film they previously didn’t. I remember being turned away by the trailers for The Lego Movie (2014), it seemed like a childish cash-grab and nothing more – however upon seeing glowing reviews I reluctantly went and saw it. Now, The Lego Movie is my favourite animated film, and I likely wouldn’t have seen it without hearing recommendations from some of my favourite critics. 

So, why do I want to be a film critic? Having discussions about films I’ve seen with my friends is one of my favourite things to do. I have so many memories of sitting down with my friends after going to the cinema, where we’d discuss and dissect the film we’d just seen. Discussing film is one of the things I most enjoy. I love hearing other people’s perceptions and takes on films, as well as offering mine to someone else. Film Critics are crucial in encouraging debate between viewers, as they show a need for films to be analysed which will incite others to follow. They also act as an education for many, as it teaches readers key film terminology and a greater understanding of what can make a film ‘work’. While it can be seen that critics are offering an objective view and not allowing audiences to form their own opinions, I think critics act as a public view of someone’s interpretation. It’s incredibly rare that a critic will say they’re always right because all they’re doing is offering their opinion. This is something I’m interested in – I thoroughly enjoy offering my interpretations of films as well as hearing those of others. I think film critics are one of the most important external roles within the film industry, as it can bring people insight into films, as well as playing a vital role in analysing film.

There are many skills needed to become a film critic. Firstly, the ability to write with a range of creative language and vocabulary is a must. Nobody wants to read a dull, uninspired review with the same adjectives and phrases repeated over and over again. The ability to change the way you use language is something all critics should have. It’s also essential to maintain a balance of appraisal and criticism, as there are even the slightest redeemable qualities to some truly terrible films. One other vital skill required is the ability to understand multiple points of view, as the way someone reads a film is subjective, and so someone reading your review could easily not be aligned with what  you’re arguing. For these skills to be developed, the best way is to keep writing reviews as well as reading others. I use the app Letterboxd in which I regularly post reviews of films I see, so I’ll definitely continue this in order to practice my reviewing style. I’ll also aim to read a range of different reviews on different films, rather than just paying attention to specific critics that I tend to focus on. YouTube is also a platform in which film criticism is incredibly popular – with many film related YouTube channels, such as Chris Stuckmann and RedLetterMedia, amassing millions of subscribers and followers. Therefore, this could be a useful platform to use, so I’m considering developing my skills by creating YouTube videos where I review films. I have also just begun my ‘journey’ as a University student at USW, where I study Cinema – and so I will be giving my absolute all in order to get a degree, which I can use in order to climb the ladder of the film industry.

Anyway, this was my ramble on the role of the film critic and how I believe it to be truly important for the film industry. If you like what you’ve read please follow my blog for more posts surrounding film and cinema.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started